top of page

Motherhood Musings

"Motherhood is a Hodge Podge of Blessings and Heartaches they say ", I couldn't agree more

From being a woman to being a Mother, I have experienced a complete change emotionally and physically in such a way that my life can be divided in 2 parts : Before Ovi and After Ovi ( Ovi is my daughters name)

On our wedding anniversary, as we were enjoying a sumptuous dinner at a plush restaurant, my gynae pinged me, stating the pregnancy test is positive. Yes ! We were thrilled to bits to the extent that probably, the entire dessert spread was devoured only by us, at the buffet.

We were that happy and ecstatic! The joy of being a preggers is a lovely start to the motherhood journey we embark on, and I enjoyed it, for the first 7 months, with all the pampering, teasing and rituals involved.

At the end of 7 months, a bad news hit me, that of my dad being diagnosed with last stage of pancreatic cancer. The news affected me badly and I was advised complete bed rest due to complication in my pregnancy.

Cut to my baby's birth, my joy was immense yet short lived as I lost my dad within 15 days of delivery and didn't get a chance to meet him as he was in another city. I was in Pune and He was admitted in Mumbai.

I tell you this story because, I experienced a birth and a loss at the same time, and I had a huge realisation that nor birth or death teaches you anything, they are done and dusted, we ONLY Learn from our journey in between and this is what I learnt from my motherhood journey.

There are many lessons you learn in a mothering journey like value of time, sleep, being non- judgmental, having empathy etc, the biggest one I learnt was A C C E P T A N C E :

1) “There’s no way to be a perfect mother and a million ways to be a good one.” – Jill Churchill

Acceptance that I will never be a Perfect mother, I accept myself as the imperfect mother, who sometimes cries, throws tantrums, forget to pack lunch, trying to walk the thin line between SAHM and working mother ( I work part-time from home and also report to office)

2) Acceptance of people around judging me for various things like how I had my delivery, did I breastfeed or bottlefeed, why only one child and how I raise my child.

3) Acceptance that although I miss being by myself, not having me time, looking like a mombie most times, these days will pass too quickly and a day will come when I will reminisce about the days I had this chaos in my life

4) Acceptance of my great managerial skills going downhill as a huge multitasking skill is required when you have kids,and thats when you see the real value of time (make that, sleep too)

5) Acceptance that a imperfect messy house with toys and puzzles strewn around is completely alright to have.It is good to see our home filled with toys and we love the chaos our child brings to our boring lives.

6) And the biggest one, at 1 year 2 months Ovi started daycare, the first one week, she and me both would cry when they would take her from my arms.

That's it, one week later I had stopped crying because this is the reality of life, today her daycare, tomorrow her higher studies, and then she'll be flying off our nest to hers..

ACCEPT IT, she is not born to be with me physically forever..

She will have things to do, jobs to do and I accept that.

“Motherhood is the biggest gamble in the world. It is the glorious life force. It’s huge and daunting—it’s an act of infinite optimism.” – Gilda Radner

I am inspired by this quote and truly believe motherhood has made me more wiser in a short time than a 100 self help books of "How to increase your self confidence,how to be a optimist and how to manage time better" put together.

This post is part of the ‘How Motherhood has changed me?’ Blog Train hosted by Mums&Babies. Click on the photo to read the motherhood stories shared by 41 moms from Singapore, India and USA on this blog train.

Next Up is Tamanna Bavishi , Tamanna is happy go lucky mother, taking positive from everything in life. She has been into teaching for the last 8 years and has taken a break because motherhood happened. She is an avid reader, a crazy potterhead and she loves writing and dancing. A Mother to a 13 months old Cookie, she is absolutely enjoying this new role with zeal and enthusiasm. Check her blog

https://linktr.ee/tamannabavishi to read her story.

bottom of page